jump to navigation

A Birthday Letter December 8, 2009

Posted by Jordan in Thoughts, Twilight.
Tags: , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Dear Moon, UC, all of the incredible women on and around LTT, LTR, and the rest of the Twilight fandom, and every single person I’ve been able to get to know because of or through it –

Wow. I don’t really know of another way to start this, other than simply saying wow. Wow.

I’m overwhelmed as I try to textualize all of this – the happiness I feel for Moon and UC on LTT/LTR’s Birthiversary, the extreme gratitude I feel towards the amazing people I’ve been privileged to get to know for all that they have (probably unknowingly) done that has served as a light among darkness for me, the sense of awe I still feel for all that has grown out from the book series, the profound sense of privilege (and responsibility, in a sense) I feel out of being part of this community, and, most of all, the deep, unwavering love I feel for all of it. ALL of it. And all of you. Including you. Yes, YOU. If you’re reading this – even if I don’t know you very well, or if we haven’t met in person, or if we haven’t had the chance to talk very much – I want you to know that I am fervently thankful for you, that I am HERE for you in whatever way that I can be, and that I love you.

This is not just LTT/LTR’s birthday – this time (this approximate time, anyway) also serves as my personal Twi-versary. Here’s a bit of minutiae that none of you know about: I still have the receipts for my purchases of each of the books, so I can tell you exactly when it all started for me. November 9th, 2008. That was the date, last year, when I – totally unaware of what I was getting myself into – picked up a paperback copy of Twilight, curious as to what all the hype was about. I ended up reading the first six chapters – up to the Port Angeles trip – in the bookstore that night! I completely lost track of time in the process, and was finally brought back to Earth by my realization that the store would be closing in a few minutes. Stunned by the world that I had stepped into, I decided that it would be pointless to even make the slightest pretense of not being fascinated by all of it, so I bought the book that night (along with John Coltrane’s “A Love Supreme” on vinyl. Pretty good haul, wouldn’t you say?). I even made sure to buy that same paperback copy of the book – the first one I ever picked up. It’s now something of a prized possession for me. I bought an advance ticket for an opening night showing of the movie and went by myself, since I hardly even knew anyone else who was into it back then. I was initially kind of bummed about going by myself, but, once I got to the theater that night, it didn’t matter. I completely forgot about that, because I was STUNNED by the scene that night, and what I saw. Even though – shock of shocks – myself and the couple of other guys in attendance were overwhelmingly outnumbered by the girls there, I discovered that it didn’t really bother me, and that I actually liked it. I can’t say that I expect this to make much sense, but I also felt my innate sense of protectiveness and nurturing, because I CARED about all of those girls in the theater that night. Nevermind that none of them even knew who I was – those girls MATTERED to me (and continue to matter to me), and I savored every single second of that night’s experience, because I got to see all of them at their most beautiful – thrillingly, wonderfully happy, unapologetically female, and just alive. FULL of life. That was one of the moments that gave me an inkling of what kind of person I want to be, and what kind of existence makes sense to me – I want to contribute as much as possible to those moments, and to helping those girls, and others like them, know that I CARE. 

I’m not even sure of where next to go with this letter, or what else to say (or type, rather). I am sure, however, that I have been extraordinarily blessed by all of you, and by all of this. I consider myself very lucky, and, if I may, I’ll venture into TUCT (Total Unabashed Corniness Territory) for a moment and sign off with this: I love being a unicorn, I wear that label with pride, like a badge of honor, I love that some now know me as “the OG unicorn” or simply as “the unicorn”, and, most of all, I love that some call me “our unicorn”. Yes, I am. I am happy to belong to all of this, and I will be here as long as you all will let me.

Love (and spider monkeys),

Jordan

Comments»

1. Janetrigs - December 8, 2009

You are a doll, a manly man doll, but a doll. Great Letter!

2. Marta - December 8, 2009

You rock, Jordan! 🙂

3. Proselyte3 - December 8, 2009

Love it Jordon! x

4. themoonisdown - December 8, 2009

awww i remember reading your blog for the first time after you commented and thinking this guy needs to stick around! im so glad you did! and i love how freaking gushy and corny everyones being! feel the love!!!!!!!! let’s all sing never think together.

ok just kidding.

5. vickyb - December 8, 2009

That was so sweet! It makes me happy knowing that there are guys out there that really do care. It makes my world a little bit better. I hope that more people will get to know you through the fandom or not…you have a lot to accomplish. I am honored to say I know you!

*tears* You are so sweet!

6. PinkFluff - December 8, 2009

You’re making up new acronyms, now? TUCT. I’m cool with that. Spider monkeys, however, I am not.

Glad you’re a boy, who likes Twilight, for without you I would not have as many philosophical conversations as I do.

❤ and stuff,
~A

7. unintendedchoice - December 8, 2009

our unicorn… yes you are!!!! Hugs to you Jordan! This was the sweetest!

XO

8. BrookeLockart - December 8, 2009

Aww – hugs!!

9. Freya - December 8, 2009

I love that story. You’ll always be my favorite unicorn. Yet another blog today that made me smile and cry in tandem.

10. Bandmum1 - December 9, 2009

You’ll always be Jordicorn to me! Never before (or since) has a man so willingly allowed himself to be ‘captured’ by 2 strange women who wanted to ‘climb’ him for a hug! (In case you didn’t realize it, I used to be known as RobMeDWW in the Flat. That ID is no more for various reasons, most having to do with search engines!)
You are loved in return!

11. pange - December 14, 2009

Jordan,

What an awesome story/blog entry. I’m just sorry that I’m reading it so late.

You are an incredible person and every one of us Twi-girls is privileged to count you as our unicorn. =) {{{hugs}}}

Love,
Pange


Leave a Reply

