jump to navigation

Ok, so, I apparently forgot how to blog for a week. Nice. My apologies. April 12, 2009

Posted by Jordan in Books, Quotes.
Tags: , , , , , , ,
add a comment

Spent some time at Barnes & Noble Friday night. I had just finished eating a late lunch/early dinner with a friend, didn’t particularly feel like heading back to the house, so I did what I usually do in those situations: surround myself with books and/or music, either at Barnes & Noble or at Hastings. That night, it was B & N. I headed up there with the intention of just chizlaxin’ (“chizlaxin'” = chillin’ + relaxing), scoping some books for a little while, and trying to decompress a bit. I, of course, should have known better. It’s never that easy.

So, I get there and start looking around for some interesting reading material. What did I find? The books I checked out and spend a bit of time with are as follows (titles are linked to the Amazon page):

God’s Problem

Atheist Delusions

Columbine

Critique Of Pure Reason

I’m not entirely sure how many other guys around my age spend their Friday nights at bookstores with reading material like that, but I do, apparently.

 

Here, for no particular reason other than my being a longtime fan of it, is a quote from Charles Bukowski:

“There’s nothing to mourn about death any more than there is to mourn about the growing of a flower. What is terrible is not death but the lives people live or don’t live up until their death. They don’t honor their own lives, they piss on their lives. They shit them away. Dumb fuckers. They concentrate too much on fucking, movies, money, family, fucking. Their minds are full of cotton. They swallow God without thinking, they swallow country without thinking. Soon they forget how to think, they let others think for them. Their brains are stuffed with cotton. They look ugly, they talk ugly, they walk ugly. Play them the great music of the centuries and they can’t hear it. Most people’s deaths are a sham. There’s nothing left to die.”