jump to navigation

The power that music can possess never ceases to amaze me. March 27, 2009

Posted by Jordan in Music, Thoughts, Twilight.
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Random thought before I get to the main idea of this post: Ryan Adams’ version of “Wonderwall” by Oasis is fantastic. I’ve probably listened to it ten times tonight.

I needed to get out of the house for a little while tonight. I just needed to get some fresh air, and be exposed to some stimuli, knowwhatimsayin? So I went to an arcade and played a few video games. Don’t judge me.

Anyway, as I was driving back to my house, I was listening to the Twilight Soundtrack. I pulled into the driveway while listening to Iron And Wine’s “Flightless Bird, American Mouth”, and I’m not entirely sure how to explain what happened next. I couldn’t stop listening to it. I was completely entranced. I must have listened to it five or six times straight before I “woke up” and got out of my car. I’ve sat alone in my car listening to music an innumerable amount of times before, and there have been times when I feel like I might not ever come back to Earth from whatever place the music takes me to, but this was different. It was like contrasting things happening simultaneously – like, my heart sped up quite a bit, because of the intense, simple beauty of that song, and because I couldn’t help but picture how beautiful the prom scene is that that song is used for in the movie. Yet, just as my heart was reacting that way, the longer I listened to the song, I actually felt more and more relaxed, almost like I could just drift right off to sleep. It was such a strange emotional juxtaposition – once I actually got into the house, it took me a few minutes to recover, so that I could process thoughts normally again.

Music is and will forever be the sun to my earth.

Comments»

1. Nichole - March 28, 2009

I can’t even count how many times this has happened to me! Love it. Your blog is great…I’m glad that I came across your page on Twitter. Keep up the posts, they’re great!

❤ n

2. themoonisdown - March 28, 2009

one of the best uses of ryan’s wonderwall cover was in an oc season finale. we talk about about adam brody and the oc but seriously one of the best shows and their use of music was inspiring to me.

LOVE when music is correctly used in tv/film and how it can completely change a scene.

3. Jordan - March 28, 2009

@ Nichole – Hi! Your kind words are very much appreciated, and I hope you’ll drop by again! I’m glad that my stream-of-consciousness rambling about music didn’t seem to just be completely incomprehensible to you.

@ Moon – I’ve heard about that OC episode that you’re referring to, where they use his version of “Wonderwall”. I haven’t seen much of that show, so I haven’t seen the episode myself, but I don’t at all doubt its effective use of music – Alex Patsavas usually does a great job of helping with the music selection for Grey’s Anatomy, so I’m sure The OC was the same way.

I totally know what you mean, about how much of an effect music can have on TV or film, when used correctly – it can add SO much. One of the best examples of that, IMO, is the way “10,000 Miles” by Mary Chapin Carpenter is used in Fly Away Home. Don’t know if you know of that movie or not – I’ve actually blogged about that song before, it’s seriously one of my favorites ever – but the end sequence is gorgeous, and adding that song to it makes it unbelievable.

4. caitlin0210 - April 2, 2009

I absolutely love that song and can’t imagine a better song for the prom scene. I also adore Rob Pattinson’s song Let Me Sign and just think there is so much emotion in it – perfect for the scene! I can’t wait to see the other song choices for the next movie.

Thanks for checking out my blog – always nice to get a new reader! And to know there are more Twilight fans out there!

Caitlin

5. scribbleddreams - April 10, 2009

Hello! Ahh… it’s nice to see another who feels as I do, along with you being a guy. While I was reading your blog I noticed that you started putting my boyfriend to shame. Lol.
And thanks for dropping by my blog. I made the header myself – I’ve just started messing around with a program I downloaded. Thanks!

6. '86 Rabbit - April 27, 2009

That’s one of my favorite songs on the CD. I’m glad it got used for prom.

7. abnormalex - September 22, 2011

I enjoyed reading this post. I like how you talked about the emotional juxtaposition of your heart racing while your body relaxed. I think such emotional juxtaposition is present in a lot of good music. For instance, I think there is a thin line between nostalgia and a melancholy state. You know when you are listening to a sad sounding song that makes you think about life, the universe, and everything? There comes a unique emotion in which you become suspended in between melancholy and nostalgic. These are my favorite type of songs. Often times the emotion cannot be defined, like you mentioned, that moment in which you feel entranced and in another world. These are my favorite songs, the songs that suspend you between two different worlds of emotion.


Leave a Reply

